Home > 20 Days of WoW Blogging, About Me, Technology, Work > 20 Days of WoW Blogging – Day 6 – Your Workplace

20 Days of WoW Blogging – Day 6 – Your Workplace

Cinematic Posters

Today’s post is an interesting tour of the space I play WoW in! Now, go ahead and laugh because I fit the typical WoW stereotype; I play WoW in my basement (my old office was upstairs and it got too warm in the summer), and since it’s so disconnected from the rest of my living quarters, I told Mal we could make it a WoW haven for all I cared. And so the basement has become the home of WoW figures, BlizzCon posters (5 years worth!), sharp objects, and my home office. Oh yes, the nerd is strong here.

The header are the three cinematics posters I’ve been able to acquire and haul back on plane trips from previous BlizzCons. They are actually hung on the wall straight–it’s been a running joke all my life that I can’t take level pictures or hang level art. My roommates in college loved me for that…every poster leaned in our apartment… At this time, Blizzard has not released a Cataclysm cinematic poster, so that’s why only Vanilla, BC, and Wrath are represented.

Bottle Opener?!?

Above my bar hangs what my friends have referred to as the “big ass bottle opener.” Mal likes to collect pointy objects (if we ever had a burglar, the guy wouldn’t last long!), so it seemed only fitting that he got Frostmourne to add to his collection. The sword is huge and it requires me to wield it as a 2-hander *sits and thinks about what she just typed and /facepalms because someone is gonna make it sexual in nature!*!

It was a very cool piece to pick up, and I’m glad we got it (I said yes, Mal sorta bugged out on it slightly before agreeing to it).


I was doing WoW and MLP YEARS ago!

The bookshelf is sorta dumping ground for WoW figurines, my stuffed murloc collection, a My Little Pony that my mom gave me when I was at AOL (don’t ask, I’m not quite sure either), and our WoW Collector’s Editions (at LEAST one from every expansion).

There’s also some (but not all) of the WoW TCG cards that I mentioned in the previous post. And if anyone wants any of those cards…let me know…

Let me tell you, that bookcase is a PITA to keep dusted…I usually do it right before my mom comes to visit.  The last time she came over, she wrote her name in the dust as a reminder to me to dust -.-

Off to the side of the picture is an inflatable Frostmourne from a past BlizzCon.  The bubble-hearthing Dwarf Paladin is sitting on top of a lamp that I don’t use over there as well.

My WoW Space

The final pic is where I actually play WoW from! *gasp* I promised shitty pictures, and I delivered! BlizzCon posters for 2008-2010 hang above our PCs (2006 and 2007 hang as you come down the stairs), and then you get a glimpse of my home office (IP Phone and MBP are my home office). My area is on the left (Mal’s PC is on the right), and while it’s hard to tell, I play on a 30″ monitor (great for Photoshop and video editing too), so most of my screenshots within WoW are HUGE. My PC sits on the floor, an Alienware Aurora that’s a little over a year old and is still performing beautifully. Though I may want one of those video cards that Antigen linked yesterday (it was teh sex). I’m totally rocking a BlizzCon mouse pad, and a Darkmoon Faire 2009 TCG play mat rests under my MBP (It’s got Illidan on it!). Illi sort of acts as a protective barrier between the cherry desk and my drinks when I play.

In all, not that exciting of a space, but it’s where I’m found usually 12+ hours a day, so it works!

Tomorrow’s topic is on the name of my Blog, so hopefully that will be a little more intelligent than this entertaining post!

  1. Steven
    November 13, 2011 at 1:01 pm | #1

    Hey man, I was interested in buying those cinematic posters from the Blizzard Store, but they have no information regarding size or anything. Would it be possible for you to give me some rough length x width measurements?

    • November 13, 2011 at 4:08 pm | #2

      I just took measurements and the end result is 36″x25″ =) Hope this helps you!

  2. Casey
    January 29, 2012 at 1:42 pm | #3

    Would you mind telling me where you acquired that beautiful Arthas poster?? :D

    • January 29, 2012 at 5:02 pm | #4

      If you’re interested in the Cinematic poster, it’s part of a set of 3 now (apparently, I picked them up individually, lol) at the Blizzard store: http://us.blizzard.com/store/details.xml?id=1100000566

      The large poster over my PC isn’t available anymore it seems. I got it many BlizzCons ago =\

  3. Som
    April 10, 2012 at 7:09 pm | #5

    Where did you buy the frames for your cinematic posters?

    • April 11, 2012 at 7:34 pm | #6

      I actually took them to a professional framer in town to have them put under glass. :) The frames are a heavy metal.

  4. Josh
    November 16, 2013 at 8:54 pm | #7

    Hey there. Was curious about how much did it cost for those frames your cinematic posters are in? You mentioned you took them to a pro frarmer and had em put in glass so I was just wondering what an approx price would be? I’m interested in doing the same with mine, and other posters

    • November 17, 2013 at 1:36 am | #8

      The frames were about $110 each. They aren’t light by any means! If you take them to Michael’s or another store that does sales on their framing, you might be able to lower the price a touch :) Mine were taken to a tiny little shop in town–wasn’t a big box store with regular sales.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 994 other followers

