Home > Dragon Soul, Fail, LFR, Paladin, Patch 4.3, Raiding, Warcraft > Just Gonna Stick This Here…

Just Gonna Stick This Here…

December 27, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Hiya WoW Insider readers (again!)…if you didn’t think I was a conceited asshole (based on some of the comments I’ve gotten I seem to think some people missed the “yes, I’m an asshole” line in the post), let me reaffirm my stance with tonight’s LFR screenshot…

Tonight’s LFR fun can be found within this pic:

*sigh*

And yes, I browse my LFR tank’s Armories if I’m laying dead on the ground for whatever reason. I’m not green when it comes to tanking on a Paladin…don’t attempt to bullshit me when I can look at your stats and *know* you aren’t as qualified as you say you are…

“Fucking twat shit talking” did make my night though. I cackled maniacally in Mumble when I read that.

  1. December 27, 2011 at 7:59 am

    As a tank, you shouldn’t have ANY dps pieces on. But, I will say that even I have broken that rule. ONLY because the DPS BoE Cata legs I had were better than any tanking legs at 78. Once I saw better (by like level 80), I replaced them. ^_^

    • December 27, 2011 at 6:52 pm

      If there’s enough Mastery and the secondary stat isn’t awful (like hit), then I’d definitely put them to use!

  2. December 27, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Only time I wore DPS gear as a tank: 4.0.3 when our first kill of the PvP boss dropped Ret pants (Hit/Mastery). Once I got the proper tier pants I replaced them.

    There are some items that you can make work. But if it has Crit and/or Haste, for shame.

    • December 27, 2011 at 6:54 pm

      The blue PvP gear (3 pieces too!) was what made it for me. I realize that shoulders and a helm can be a PITA to come by (I look back at my ZA/ZG farming runs), but the effort is appreciated and shows that you care about the role you’re filling!

      I know of another tank who work Hit/Mastery pants while he waited for tank legs to drop >.> (No, it wasn’t me, but someone I have respect for in the tanking community)

  3. Poli
    December 27, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    Not familiar with tank terms, so I must ask: What does CTC mean?

    • December 27, 2011 at 6:48 pm

      CTC is Combat Table Coverage. It’s a tank’s ability to push all normal hits off the “table” so to speak. Instead of a tank taking spike damage, our incoming damage is more smooth because we are avoiding and mitigating the hits. Paladins achieve CTC coverage via their Dodge, Block (via Mastery), and Parry stats. There are buffs (Mark of the Wild, Horn of Winter, Elixir of the Master, and various cooked foods) that can increase the numbers even more.

      I choose to use Elixirs (usually tanks will pair an Elixir of the Master with a Prismatic Elixir, which will increase magic resistance–a great combo in Firelands) and get my raid buffs from our druids and DKs to hit my cap. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 994 other followers

