Home > 20 Days of WoW Blogging, Warcraft > 20 Days of WoW Blogging – Day 3 – My First Day in WoW

20 Days of WoW Blogging – Day 3 – My First Day in WoW

What I was Expecting in WoW

So today’s blog topic is my first day in WoW. I assure you, when I look back on it now, I’m rather embarrassed at my abilities, but I’m glad I’ve come far in WoW since that first day/week/month.

I began playing WoW a few months before the launch of the Burning Crusade. I had never played an MMO before and my past experience with computer games was limited to Diablo II, Neverwinter Nights, and Black & White. Diablo II was probably the only game that I put focus into, the others were small time wasters that never really garnered much focus from me.

My first character was a female Night Elf Rogue. I rolled a Rogue because I played an Assassin in Diablo II. I figured it was a safe starting point to learn WoW. To provide a support role, my husband rolled a Druid.

We rolled on a small realm; I don’t even remember what realm it was. I remember being amazed at the ability to design my character and then the little intro cinematic before appearing in the game. And then there was the world! It was huge! There were NPCs and grass and animals! There were buildngs, flowers and color! The world was HUGE!

Since my husband had played since Vanilla launch, he was able to explain some of the basic mechanics to the game. How to talk, open my bags, vendor and gather quests from the NPCs. He had played through the Night Elf starting zone a few times, so he knew how the questing worked.

Killing mobs seemed to be going well. I was on level ground exploring and killing, all was going well! But then I got a quest that sent me up the big tree in the newbie zone. And that’s when all hell broke loose.

My First WoW Challenge

I was completey fine on the ground, but when an elevation was changed, it was a whole new game. I was petrified! Looking back, I have no idea why taking the ramps up the tree to turn in to  Tenaron Stormgrip in order to  complete Precious Waters quest bothered me as much as it did. I think it took me about 30 minutes to make it to the top, during which my husband sat there and probably wondered what he had gotten into as his wife was freaking out about walking up a ramp to turn in a quest. If I recall correctly, that was about all I did my first night in WoW.  Who knew that a ramp could overwhelm someone so badly? I will admit that I was a keyboard turning failure for about the first month or so of my WoW career, so that may have contributed to the challenge of tree climbing.

The Deadmines

My second challenge (which came weeks later), in WoW, was my first instance. I was questing in Westfall with my husband when a level 60 warrior (what a high level I thought at the time) was offering free Deadmines runs. My husband (who was still somewhat of a n00b to WoW as well) became very excited and said that it was a fun dungeon and this warrior was offering to “carry” us through the instance. So we went to Deadmines with dreams of blue loot and fast mob deaths.

Deadmines went great! Well, it was great until we got to the final boss, Edwin Van Cleef. You see, Edwin dropped a really nice staff, the Emberstone Staff, to be exact. And on that run, Edwin just happened to drop that really nice staff! Unfortunately for my husband, he didn’t do a good job of explaining how the Need vs. Greed system worked. I thought that if I could Need on the item, I could give it to him. It just so happened that I won the roll, and my Rogue ended up with a spellpower staff while my husband sat there like a fish opening and closing his mouth before saying “WTH were you thinking?”

Fastest way I think I could have ever learned about what the different types of loot roll options meant!

My little Rogue wasn’t long for the world. She has since been deleted and was replaced my my first hunter, a little Troll named Zelinda on Bloodscalp where we rolled to play with Mal’s coworkers while we awaited the launch of the Burning Crusade and the Blood Elves, which would result in me finally establishing a “main” for an expansion in the form of Mírina the Blood Elven huntress.

I’d like to think I’m a better player than I was when I started. I’ve rolled a few Night Elves since that fateful day and still joke about the ramp of doom that stressed me out so badly. Nowadays, it’s not ramps that bother me in WoW; now it’s cliffs, because I always seem to misjudge my ability to survive a leap and normally end up as a splat as Mal /facepalms beside me.

Tomorrow’s topic is my favorite WoW memory–so let’s be clear that THIS isn’t it!

  1. June 15, 2011 at 4:44 pm | #1

    Nice post! It’s fun to relive those moments when we were first in awe of what this game had to offer. I had to chuckle at your fear of ramps… for me is was swimming for some reason. Funny that you mentioned you rolled a Rogue because you played an Assassin in D2; I also played D2 extensively – as a Barbarian, hence my first WoW toon was a Warrior /rawr!

    Keep up the great posts, I’m looking forward to reading the rest of your 20 days of…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 994 other followers

